first cycle complete!

Well – another long day at the hospital yesterday.  Kim dropped me at Cathy’s at 8.30 in the morning.  Had brekkie with her then headed into the hospital.  Had my dressings from the operation changed in the morning and whilst they had a room ready for me this time, my chemo drugs had not arrived and didn’t turn up til about 12.30.  Cathy stayed chatting til about 12 – it was nice to bounce some work ideas off her and gossip and then I just relaxed til the chemo finished just before 5.  Chemo was so much easier with my line in – no needles, and it doesn’t get all cold like it does in your arm.  My neck is still a little sore but will get better.  Kim came to pick me up and we drove straight down to Barton.  

I was really tired and grouchy last night but we found a decent Indian takeaway and had a yummy Rogan Josh.  Planning a quiet weekend – a nice meal out tonight, Mandie and her dog Bob are visiting in the daytime tomorrow but other than that lots of R&R and short walks.  Kim is still struggling to train with his achiles hurt.  He was crazy enough to don his wetsuit and attempt to swim in the sea this morning but his face just got too cold so he didn’t make it very far!  He has the OS maps out though and is planning a big cycle instead.

So, that’s the first cycle of chemo over.  5 more to go – I’m looking forward to my week off next week and have a few nice things planned as well as a bit more work.  Still planning to take it easy though – don’t worry!

Leave a comment

Filed under General news

Leave a comment